Sorority History

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority was founded January 16, 1920, on the campus of Howard University in Washington, D.C. Our organization was founded on the principles of Scholarship, Service, Sisterhood, and Finer Womanhood. The names of the five collegiate students of Howard University who charted Zeta were Arizona Cleaver (Stemons), Pearl Anna Neal, Myrtle Tyler (Faithful), Viola Tyler (Goings), and Fannie Pettie (Watts). Our founders of Zeta Phi Beta are also affectionately known as “the five pearls”. Zeta Phi Beta Sorority is an international organization with over 800+ chapters, in the USA, Africa, Europe, Asia and the Caribbean. Zeta Phi Beta is the only NPHC sorority that is constitutionally bound to a fraternity, Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Incorporated. Like our brothers our colors are royal blue and pure white. Zeta has 5 official auxiliary groups, Amicae, Archonettes, Amicettes, Pearlettes and Zeta Male Network. The sorority signature programs are National Educational Foundation, Storks Nest and Z-HOPE.